Gym owners compare these platforms on the subscription line because it is the number printed largest on the pricing page. It is also, for most gyms, the smallest of the three or four fees they will actually pay. The money moves in the percentages, and the percentages are published inconsistently across this market: some vendors state them plainly, some bury them in a comparison table, and some do not put a card rate on the pricing page at all.
Below are the fees as each vendor published them on August 29, 2026, then the arithmetic at three gym sizes so you can see where the ranking changes. Nothing here is estimated except where it is explicitly labelled as an assumption.
What each vendor charges
Two of these five charge a percentage of your revenue on top of card processing. That is the line that decides most of the outcome, so it gets its own column.
| Vendor | Subscription | Platform fee on top | Card rate | Bank transfer |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amilia | $99/mo Standard, $499/mo Advanced | 1% on every new invoice | From 2.85% + $0.30 (2.75% + $0.30 on Advanced) | eCheck 1% + $0.50 |
| SportsEngine Motion | None. $295 once to start | 1% technology fee | 2.9% + $0.30 | Not stated on the pricing page |
| iClassPro | $139/mo per location, up to $299 | None published | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Jackrabbit Class | From $49/mo, Plus from $93/mo | None published | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Gymdesk | $75 to $200/mo by active members | None published | Not stated on the pricing page | Not stated on the pricing page |
The three vendors that do not publish a card rate are not necessarily more expensive. They are just impossible to compare on public information, which is itself worth knowing before you spend an afternoon building a spreadsheet. Ask for the rate in writing and you will get it. Just do not assume it matches the vendor down the road.
The 1 percent that costs more than the software
A 1 percent fee sounds like a rounding error next to a 2.9 percent card rate. It is not, because you should be comparing it against the subscription, not against the card fee. Card processing is roughly unavoidable and roughly the same everywhere. The platform percentage is the part that differs between vendors, and it is charged on your gross tuition.
Here is what that 1 percent costs per month, next to what a flat subscription costs at the same volume. The tuition figures assume a gym collecting the full amount through the platform.
| Monthly tuition collected | A 1% platform fee | iClassPro Signature | Jackrabbit entry |
|---|---|---|---|
| $10,000 | $100 | $139 | $49 |
| $40,000 | $400 | $139 | $49 |
| $100,000 | $1,000 | $139 | $49 |
The crossover against iClassPro's $139 Signature tier lands at $13,900 of monthly tuition. Below that, a percentage model is genuinely cheaper. Above it, the flat subscription wins and the gap widens every month you grow. A gym collecting $100,000 a month pays $1,000 for the same software the $10,000 gym pays $100 for, and receives nothing extra for the difference. That is the entire argument against percentage pricing for a growing business, and it is why the "no monthly subscription" headline deserves a second look rather than a sigh of relief.
What a real month costs, end to end
Take a gym with 200 families, $200 average monthly tuition, so $40,000 collected in 200 card transactions. Amilia and SportsEngine Motion publish everything needed to compute this exactly. For iClassPro, Jackrabbit and Gymdesk the card rate is not published, so the figures below apply an illustrative 2.9 percent plus $0.30 purely to make the comparison like for like. Treat those three as estimates and confirm the real rate with the vendor.
- Amilia Standard: $99 subscription, $400 service fee, $1,140 card, $60 per transaction. About $1,699.
- SportsEngine Motion: no subscription, $400 technology fee, $1,160 card, $60 per transaction. About $1,620.
- Gymdesk: $150 subscription at the 101 to 200 member band, plus an assumed $1,220 processing. About $1,370.
- iClassPro Signature: $139 subscription plus an assumed $1,220 processing. About $1,359.
- Jackrabbit Class: $49 to $93 subscription plus an assumed $1,220 processing. About $1,269 to $1,313.
The spread between the top and bottom of that list is roughly $430 a month, or about $5,000 a year, for software that does substantially the same job. None of that difference is visible if you compare the subscription line alone, which is exactly how most of these decisions get made.
The bank transfer lever most gyms ignore
Amilia is the only vendor here publishing an eCheck rate, at 1 percent plus $0.50, against cards at 2.85 percent plus $0.30. On a $200 tuition payment that is $2.50 by bank transfer against $6.00 by card. Move half of 200 families onto bank transfer and the same gym saves about $350 a month without changing platforms or renegotiating anything.
The catch is that bank transfer fails differently. A card decline is instant and the family sees it. An ACH return can take several business days to come back, which means the failed payment surfaces after you have already reconciled the week. Gyms that lean on bank transfer need a tighter habit of matching the processor's payout against what actually landed, and since most bank feeds arrive as a statement rather than a clean export, that usually means turning the statement into a spreadsheet before the two sides can be compared line by line. Do it monthly and a returned payment costs you an email. Do it quarterly and it costs you the family.
What to ask before you sign
Four numbers, in writing, before any demo turns into a contract. The subscription at your actual student count, not the headline tier. The card rate and the per transaction fee. Any platform or service percentage charged on top of card processing. And the ACH or eCheck rate. Then two more questions that matter later: who holds the merchant account, and how many days until a payout lands.
One more worth asking, because it is where switching costs hide: whether stored payment methods can be migrated out if you leave. They usually cannot, which means changing platforms means asking every family to re enter a card. That is not a reason to stay on the wrong software, but it is a reason to get the decision right the first time rather than planning to revisit it in a year.
Questions gyms ask
How much does gymnastics billing software cost?
Subscriptions run from $49 to $499 a month in August 2026. Jackrabbit Class starts at $49, Gymdesk at $75, iClassPro at $139 per location and Amilia at $99 on its Standard tier. On top of the subscription every platform charges card processing, and two of them add a 1 percent platform fee on every invoice, which is usually the larger number.
What is a platform fee on tuition payments?
It is a percentage the software vendor takes on top of the card processing rate. Amilia charges a 1 percent service fee on every new invoice and SportsEngine Motion charges a 1 percent technology fee on every transaction, both separate from the 2.85 to 2.9 percent card fee. On $40,000 of monthly tuition, that 1 percent is $400 a month.
Is no monthly subscription cheaper for a gym?
Usually not, once you are billing real tuition. SportsEngine Motion charges $295 once and no subscription, funded by a 1 percent technology fee. That beats a $139 subscription only while you collect under about $13,900 a month. Above that the percentage costs more, and unlike a subscription it keeps growing with every family you add.
Do gymnastics software vendors publish their card processing rates?
Only some of them. Amilia publishes card fees from 2.85 percent plus $0.30 and eCheck at 1 percent plus $0.50. SportsEngine Motion publishes 2.9 percent plus $0.30. iClassPro, Jackrabbit Class and Gymdesk do not state a card rate on their pricing pages, so you have to ask for it in writing before you can compare total cost.
Should a gym pass credit card fees on to parents?
Many gyms do, either as a card surcharge or by discounting bank transfer payments. Surcharging is regulated at state level in the US and card network rules cap it, so check your state and your processor agreement first. Steering families to eCheck or ACH is the simpler route, since a 1 percent plus $0.50 bank fee beats 2.85 percent plus $0.30 on any tuition above about $11.
What should I ask a vendor before signing a billing contract?
Ask for four numbers in writing: the monthly subscription at your student count, the card rate and per transaction fee, any platform or service percentage on top, and the ACH or eCheck rate. Then ask who owns the merchant account and how long payouts take. A vendor that will not put the percentage in writing is telling you something.
The short version
Compare total cost of collection, not subscriptions. Work out your monthly tuition, multiply any platform percentage by it, and put that number next to the flat subscription you are considering. Above roughly $14,000 a month collected, flat pricing almost always wins, and it keeps winning harder as you grow. The full side by side of what these platforms charge and where each one stops is on our gymnastics management software page, the cheer specific version of the same market is on cheer class management software, and if you are budgeting a whole season rather than just the software line, cheer software pricing covers the rest of the stack.